STRATUM definitions and data collection

Post here questions, comments, and suggestions about the general i-Tree project. To avoid duplication, please be sure to check the i-Tree website and the FAQs before posting. Relevant topics include background, purpose, requirements, hardware, installation, training and events.

Moderators: i-Tree Support, i-Tree Team

mdcbk

STRATUM definitions and data collection

Post by mdcbk »

Hi, I'm an urban forester intern at the Missouri Department of Conservation. I'm currently working with the 2.0 version of the i-Tree Suite, more specifically STRATUM. First, after reading through the i-Tree glossary of terms, I found some broad definitions of what STRATUM considers a "street tree". I was wondering if you could give me any more specifics into what a private and public tree means within the context of street trees. The reason I ask is the fact that I must present my findings from STRATUM to a public that could very well ask what a true definition of a street tree is.
Second, I was curious as to how much data needs to be collected and what I really need to know to get an accurate data set for use in STRATUM. I have tried to find information on this in the manual and personally haven't been able to. I plan on conducting a small 100% inventory of street trees here in Kansas City.
Thanks for your time!
azelaya
i-Tree Team

STRATUM definitions & data requirements

Post by azelaya »

STRATUM allows the user to distinguish between public and private trees because there can be much variability between communities and project objectives. Ultimately, the project manager will define the parameters based on his or her own unique situation.