Condition should seperate Biologic health from Structural!

The i-Tree community plays a significant role in improving and defining the future capabilities of the i-Tree suite of tools. Therefore, your ideas and comments are important. This forum will serve as a place where i-Tree users can make suggestions on ways to improve all aspects of i-Tree from functionality to the website. The i-Tree executive committee will periodically review suggestions for feasibility and future implementation.

Moderators: i-Tree Support, i-Tree Team

Iris Hill Consulting

Condition should seperate Biologic health from Structural!

Post by Iris Hill Consulting » Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:52 am

I am just beginning to use Streets and found it troublesome that "condition" combines biological health (vigor) and structural health. These are VERY separate things.

If I use one of the "other" fields to track biologic health how badly will this screw up the reports etc.
azelaya
i-Tree Team

Streets condition option

Post by azelaya » Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:05 am

It is up to project managers to determine which condition codes they want to use in their individual projects and to work with their field crews to ensure consistency in evaluating the condition of a tree. Therefore, i-Tree does not specify how to evaluate biological or structural condition or health.

Although condition is common in most inventories, it is highly variable as some people may use any number of options, criteria or internal methods. In addition, the skill level of the evaluator can vary from volunteer to certified arborist.

As such, the i-Tree Streets condition option is somewhat flexible to allow a project manager to set up fields and adjust condition factor percentages to match their own evaluation system as much as possible. The condition value influences the replacement value and relative performance index reports. http://forums.itreetools.org/viewtopic. ... =condition